top of page

About the South West Florida

Bankruptcy Professional Association

A Little Bit of History...

Back around 2000 a few SW Florida bankruptcy professionals starting meeting at the 341 meeting room (then on First Street) and then the Association was incorporated in July 2002. Roger Waltemyer was the first President with Diane Jensen as the Vice President and  Doug Szabo and Jeff Leasure as officers.


They were already having an annual dinner with Judge Paskay before the actual incorporation. 

Current SWFLBPA Directors

Jonathan Bierfeld, President

Ryan Really, VP

Christian Haman , Secretary

Jerry McHale, Standing Treasurer

Alexander L. Paskay Professionalism Award

The award is based on exemplifying the following traits over a period of years: (A) Outstanding effectiveness in the presentation of matters to the Bankruptcy Court;

(B) A reputation for thorough preparation;

(C) Civility and courtesy to opposing counsel;

(D) Appropriate courtroom demeanor;

(E) Ethical conduct and professionalism at the highest level; and

(F) Long-term service to the Bankruptcy Bar

Past Honorees

2008 Greg Champeau

2009 Jeffrey W. Leasure

2010 Robert L. Vaughn

2011 Brian Zinn

2012 Diane Jensen

2013 Richard Johnston

2014 Gerard A. “Jerry” McHale

2015 Luis Rivera

2016 Stephen R. Leslie

2017 Judge Delano

2018 Robert Tardif

2019 Jon M. Waage

2021 Paula Luce


South West Florida Bankruptcy

Professional Association Members 

Below are listing of Attorneys and Professionals that make up the South West Florida Bankruptcy Professionals Association, click on name to be transferred to their website

*not all members are listed below, if you are a member and would like your information listed please contact Gwen Hutto




bottom of page